BuyCostumes Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At BuyCostumes
Shop All Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Swamp Monster Child Costume

Swamp Monster Child Costume

Swamp thing creeps through the neighborhood to frighten up a little fun for everyone. Watch out neighbors! The Swamp Monster Child Costume will have everyone watching their backs as a creature climbs from the darkest and creepiest corners of the swamp to search the town. This swamp monster is too smart to fall for any tricks but will surely scare a treat from those who cross his path. The Swamp Monster Child Costume will turn your ordinary, everyday child into a growling and hissing Swamp Thing in minutes. The green jumpsuit has a scaly reptilian texture. Torn green mesh hangs from the neck and arms to give the look some fresh-from-the-swamp authenticity. The green mask is contoured for a combination reptile and fish impression. Large reptilian eyes sit wide aside openings for your child to have clear vision. A mouth full of pointed teeth completes the Swamp Monster transformation. Scaly green, webbed hands, tipped with claws, are the final touch turning child into creature. Includes: Mask, Jumpsuit, Hands. Matching feet are not included.
Average Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Review 1 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: nattynat78
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:26-35
Visit Frequency:yearly
Title: 

AHHH!!! Swamp Thing!!!

Date:October 21, 2011
"This is a really cool costume. Good quality and true to size. Comes with extras like the hands and the material is good my 6 year old wears a size 7 and this fits him really well."
Review 2 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too Small
Too Small
Too Large
Reviewed by: greattimemom
Location:Lincoln, NE
Gender:Female
Age:36-45
Visit Frequency:yearly
Title: 

Last Years Photo!!!!!

Date:September 14, 2011
"Shoe covers don't come with it this year. We were extremely disappointed that this year the costume didn't come with the shoe covers. Of course the price was the same. It sells at Target for less and comes with the covers."
Review 3 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed by: mom1836
Gender:Female
Title: 

Exactly what he wanted

Date:March 18, 2011
"My son loves this costume. The first time he put it on, the elastic band ripped off the mask. And before he could wear it I had to repair both the mask and one of the feet. Not great quality, but my son has really enjoyed it."
Review 4 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by: Nursemom
Gender:Female
Title: 

Great costume!!

Date:November 3, 2010
"Absolutely wonderful!!! Bought this for my 4 year old and he loved it in fact he has had it on several times since Halloween!! We got rave reviews from everyone that saw!! Definitely worth the money!!"
Review 5 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by: BabaYaga1
Gender:Female
Title: 

Rockin' Costume!

Date:October 19, 2010
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Perfect compromise between my son and I! The only problem was the clawed feet, which are a little bulky and fit too loosely around his calves. Problem was solved when we put them over his cowboy boots and he practiced walking around for 2 minutes. The slow intentional walk actually looked like part of the character!"
Review 6 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by: lisa102
Gender:Female
Title: 

Runs EXTREMELY small

Date:September 29, 2010
"This costume runs extremely small. My son wears 7's and 8's. He is not an overweight kid. It barely fits with nothing underneath, When he sits the velcro pops open in the back. Regular clothes will never fit underneath this costume. We tried long john's but the still cant sit or bend over without it looking small and without the velcro on the back opening up. This costume would never in any way fit a size 10. Besides the sizing, the costume is great. The oversize hands and feet are unique and very cool.....fun to wear. The value is good for all the pieces you get. The costume does look like the picture when out of the package. Order a size up?"
Review 7 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by: areed
Gender:Female
Title: 

looks good

Date:September 20, 2010
"my 5 year old son loves his swamp monster. It looks great, fits well & seems like it would be comfortable."
Review 8 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by: tapfrenchtown
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Title: 

Perfect for those who outgrew cute

Date:November 22, 2009
"My 8 year old loved this costume. He was not too scary but not cute either just what we both wanted. The feet looked good but were a bit akward, he removed them for trick or treating. The costume is dark so would advise flashlight or glow accessory."
Review 9 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by: samry
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:46-55
Visit Frequency:yearly
Title: 

Cool Creature

Date:November 22, 2009
"After watching the old black and white "Creature of the Black Lagoon" movie, my 6 year old couldn't wait to be the main character. We were happy to find the costume on line from Buy Costumes and even more happy when he put it on. Good fit, easy to wear, and bonus to also get mask, feet and hands with the suit. Mask looked scary and was good quality. My boy had a great time wearing it on Halloween and telling everyone who he was dressed up as. Thanks for remembering the "retro" characters from my childhood too!"
Review 10 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed by: LisR
Gender:Female
Age:36-45
Visit Frequency:yearly
Title: 

Creepy

Date:November 21, 2009
"My sons' friends loved this very scary costume - it may have been a bit too creepy for 1st grade, but very cool for my third grader. The overall look was very professional with gauzy material dripping off it. My only problem was the velcro in the back - it didn't stay attached so I had to use safety pins, and while the feet looked cool, they were a pain to walk in and the velcro didn't hold well there either - elastic straps would have worked better. My kids gave up on the feet pretty quickly. Despite this the costume really was impressive."
Review 11 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by: shopper4life
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:36-45
Visit Frequency:yearly
Title: 

Great Purchase

Date:November 19, 2009
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Costume runs small, glad I went 1 size up. It was a hit. Very unique. For trick-o-treating was not able to use "feet" as they were too cumbersome to walk in. Mask eyes are not set quite right but the kid was able to make due. We're now almost at Thanksgiving and he still takes it out and wears it. May get away with wearing it again next year. This is my 3rd costume purchased at buycostumes and have been very happy with the items and customer service. I look forward to many more purchases so long as the kid continues to want to dress up."
Review 12 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed by: edmel15
Location:Central NJ
Gender:Female
Age:36-45
Visit Frequency:only at Halloween
Title: 

runs small

Date:October 1, 2009
"I ordered for my average size 9 year old and it was WAY too small. Had to return it. It was an awesome costume if it had fit. They don't have any size larger than the 8-10. He usually wears a size 8. Don't waste your time if your kid wears a size 8 or larger."
Review 13 for Swamp Monster Child Costume
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by: pinkelephant
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Female
Age:26-35
Visit Frequency:first time
Title: 

Great look, impractical 'feet'

Date:August 6, 2009
"We bought the medium sized costume for my 11-year old step-daughter who was making a movie about a town-destroying monster for her summer camp.
The costume looks perfect. It appears exactly like it does in the picture. She was able to see out the eye holes, and no part of her skin was uncovered from the front - which was a requirement of ours. She is rather short for 11 years old, however, and I'm not sure how this would work with a taller child. Face paint, or green socks or wrist bands might be needed to cover the foreshortened areas. In anticipation of this problem, we also bought some face paint sticks, but she ended up not needing them as the costume fit perfectly.
The only complaint we had was that the costume's feet were not really practical for us. They are foot covers, basically, and she was constantly disengaging from them every time she took a step. One can get around this by always taking high step 'monster' style steps, but this wouldn't be practical at all for walking around the streets on Halloween. Maybe with higher-profile shoes (thick soled tennis shoes) this would not have been a problem.
Overall a great costume, and superb customer service."